I’m 5 but… “I’m Sexy And I Know It”

So the other day I was taking midget into school. And as we are walking in, we were waiting on the front gate into the school building to be opened for us, this sometimes more often than not takes a little longer than it probably should to push a button. Anyway there was another woman beside us also waiting to get in. As the gate opens she realises who Midget is and in a very child friendly hyper active voice shouts and waves :

    “Hello my little Sexy Legs!”

Now quite stunned and shocked i hurried my little midget into class. It was only after, that my wee one told me who this rather strange, inappropriate woman was. It was her gymnastics teacher. Needless to say. I was stunned and disappointed that someone who works with children, my child, other moms children, would even consider using a word like that around children, let alone specifically call a 5 (then 4) year old little girl Sexy!

Now I’m under no illusions that Midget will grow up to be a charming, graceful heartbreaker of a young woman. No illusions what so ever. But in no way what so ever do i see it appropriate or necessary by any means to have a child grow up thinking she is sexy, any child. Surely this could be a cause or at least a stem of all the problems we currently have with teenage pregnancies and girls having sex and experimenting with sex at not only pre-marital stage (I’m not sure that word even surfaces very much any more) but at very very young age as well.

When I was younger we were called the likes of “adorable, cute, beautiful, lovely, gorgeous” etc. But never “sexy” I grew up believing that word was a swear word.

I have been drumming it into midget since she first heard the word sexy that it isn’t appropriate for her. She came home one day and told me that one of her friends said she “wasn’t sexy enough to play with them” I just about died. So since then every time the word comes up we repeat the same thing

Sexy isn’t a word that little girls are. You are beautiful and sweet and kind. But “sexy” is not something that little girls are.

I’m not sure if it’s just me but the concept of saying a word like that just gives me the image of a very unhappy group of young teenage girls who are all sad because they think they are sexy but no boys are interested in them (probably because the boys have no interest in girls at such an age). It’s just most definitely not a nice thought in the slightest.

I was watching nickelodeon with the wee one the other day. Now, just so you know one of there slogans on this chanel is “Putting kids first”.
Anyway so we were sitting watching spongebob or something and an advert for veet (hair removal cream) came on. And it’s advertising “soft” “silky” “hairless legs”. And midget turns to me and tells me “the boys at school won’t want to play with me because I have hair on my legs”

It was so wrong to hear a girl of such a young age say something like that. It almost made me feel quite sick.

Does anyone else have issues like this at home? Or am I just being silly about this whole thing?

Perhaps I am looking way to deep into it. Maybe it’s just a word. Maybe I’m being psycho mom just a little.

20121113-152313.jpg
Am I the only one who feels like everyone is in a hurry for children to grow up? The media, informing children about soft and sexy legs and even now the schools pushing it with there vocabulary already. Can kids not just be kids? Is it really too must to ask?

Leave a comment